In a special ceremony during its annual summit in St. Louis last month, the Running Industry Association (RIA) honored the 2024 Run Specialty Hall of Fame. The 2024 inductees were Jim Weber (Brooks), Colin Peddie (Marathon Sports) and Duncan Finigan, who was an executive with OOFOS before her passing due to cancer.

This makes 56 total inductees since the program was initiated in 2006. The Run Specialty Hall of Fame spotlights individuals who have contributed to the run specialty channel through innovation, leadership, peer support or influence. Each inductee has made their own, unique impact on the industry, leading to a stronger, healthier channel.

After a hiatus of a few years, the HOF was brought back to life last year with the induction of Pat and Jan Sweeney (Fleet Feet Sacramento), Ted Goodlake (On Running) and Mark Sullivan (The Running Event/Running Insight). They joined industry luminaries such as Don Lucas from Luke’s Locker, Ellen Wessel, the founder of Moving Comfort, and George Hirsch, the long-time publisher of Runner’s World Magazine.  

“Last year’s ceremony was an honor to host and this year was no different as we recognized these three inductees and their accomplishments.” states Terry Schalow, RIA executive director (in photo at top of this article). “Anyone who wants to understand what it means to contribute to the success of the run specialty channel should take a page from the notebooks of these individuals, each of whom, in their own unique way, led our industry forward.” 

The RIA will continue to manage the nomination and selection process as the industry’s trade organization. This year, nominees were vetted and appointed by the Hall of Fame committee chaired by Cathy Pugsley.